top of page

Well I've definitely made it

It's clear this blog is a world-leading blog on magic now. I'm sure my tens of readers would love to hear about my latest success so here we go!


I'm getting slightly forgetful in checking my emails. Apologies if you are one of the few who have messaged me, I will get back to you eventually. But surprise surprise in my junk email I found something that truly shows how amazing and well known this blog is.


I got invited to a virtual press junket for a new magic show that is on TruTV called "Big Trick Energy". and from what I can see from the press release and the promo they sent me it appears to be impractical jokers meets carbonaro effect style show. I'm not sure how I feel about this as I think it could cheapen magic (if that is even possible at times), and possibly that the people pitching this idea were scraping the barrel a bit.


"So we need new pitch ideas. Let's get the darts out... So we have our successful shows on this wall... and different skills and activities on this wall. Now we know that our crossover of the Office and bear baiting didn't get funded, but it's OK... Let's try and get a few more out there..."


"We've got AGT meets shark hunting... what else... Star Trek meets Unicycling.... OK throw one more set... Impractical Jokers meets magic... Oh wait... that one might actually work?! Let's pitch it!"


It seems a bit of a hodge bodge of an idea, but if it's being launched they must think there's an audience for it - hence this press junket. As I wasn't hugly interested in the show itself I originally brushed off the invite when I read it, but then I had a realisation.


I could have some fun with this. I thought if they were going to ask big hitters like me into this press conference, well I might as well think up remarkably boring/niche questions designed to frustrate the producers out there. If you're going to ask a magician to ask questions about magic, well lets make them suffer as we all have with oddly specific, niche questions that no one really cares about.


You know, stuff like "Who in your opinion was better, Devant or Thurston? Or Mr Ramsay, which palming technique do you prefer and why?" The goal was to waste the producers time, get some frustrated performers trying to be polite whilst getting annoyed by the most passive (and slightly polite) way possible. I was looking to be that person that everyone goes "urgh... not him again", but everyone is too polite to say to stop.


After a few minutes of thought, I was dying to attend my first meeting as "press". But I realised it would be rather awkward. I couldn't exactly log onto this virtual meeting and go "hi I'm the secret magician - with my face plastered all over the screen. Kinda ruins the mystery a bit. I spent even more time working out options to disguise my identity, toying with virtual masks, VPN's and voice changing, y'know just trying to think of ways to hide my identity, but this was all for nought. As I checked through this email I spotted something that would dash all my plans.


I was reading this email on the 8th of April... The press Junket was the 7th... Fuck... never mind. I guess I will just wait until I get the next invite to one of these things.


----


On a side note: If you do want to invite me to anything or send me freebies to review you can - but I won't promise it will be quick or that I will take it seriously! But hey we'll all have fun!

Recent Posts

See All

The sign of a great entertainer

I got asked recently a great question. What makes a great entertainer? What separates the OK from the awesome? On the face of it, it seems like a really obvious question with a simple answer. Skill. B

Train Musings 2 - find the dud

Just like find the lady, we’re going to play a game with your acts now called find the dud. If you win, you get the prize of a wonderful well structured act that is awesome. If you lose… well you get

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page