top of page

FMS - Additional

Updated: Feb 3, 2021

So this post kind of is an add on to my last one about buying magic tricks. To be honest with you dear reader, I haven't actually spent the vouchers I have yet, there have been a few promising things but I've really not found anything that screams out "buy me!" But that's beside the point. As we're back in lockdown (and I'm sick of explaining to clients that I can't come and do a show for them because we're not really essential workers...) I thought I'd spend some time working on tricks, developing my card skills as I realise that I've got shockingly out of practice. Now a while back I had a bit of extra cash to spare and I bought myself a mystery box from a well-known magic shop. Now I'll be the first to admit it's spent the majority of the last few months sitting in the back of my magic cupboard, hoping to eventually see the light of day.


Well, yesterday was that day. There were some things in there that I was excited about which some real potential for some great tricks, but after I watched the first DVD I soon realised that a few content creators out there are shortchanging magicians when it comes to their products. They advertise fantastic routines and performances, all of which look great but when you come to the explanation section of the DVD you soon realise you've been short-changed. Why you may ask? This DVD was a prime example.


The DVD did the usual, show the effect, cheesy demo then a very strange looking magician comes on camera in front of a weird set and "explains" the trick. This magician in particular was a great example of this. He started explaining the routine, and when it came to the sleight involved, showed it at performance speed, but did not break it down, explain it in detail or give any tips on it. All he really did was mention the name and that was that. And he repeated this explanation trick numerous times which meant that this DVD was an over-glorified list of moves.


So if you're going to do a DVD like this I would seriously advise that when you explain the routine, take a minute or two and actually walk people through the sleights. Otherwise, it's so fucking annoying having bought a DVD to then research further sleights that you may or may not have heard of or learnt before followed by trying to piece it all together. I came away from this particular DVD feeling impressed with the routines, but without the passion or information to learn them. I ended up going back to my old classic books and DVD's to learn the sleights instead and develop my own stuff. It was as if I had gone "yeah that trick was good, clever way of doing it... that's the end of that DVD" but I would have rather had everything in the DVD that I needed to perform the tricks.


It's like selling the cups and balls routine but without all the balls. Or Snowstorm in china without the tissue. These DVD's only give half the product away and yes it's nice to see an idea for a routine (and in this particular case I did find something interesting but if you are selling tricks you actually need to include the entire trick. Teach it from the point that your viewer is an idiot. Even if they aren't they will appreciate the fact that you're taking the time to explain every point and they may even pick up tips on performing sleights they've known for a long time. Teaching magic isn't just about saying "I got this from here, go there to learn it..." but actually is the explaining of everything. Just think. If a newbie bought the DVD you make as one of the first purchases - would they be put off buying more as it seems too elitist?


Now I realise that the mystery DVD's are probably the ones that they are overstocked on and there's probably a good reason for that (and this may be a big part of the problem with this specific DVD), but this isn't the first DVD that I've had to do this with.


So yeah, if you create your own content for magicians - teach everything. You'll find your products get more traction and will probably sell a lot more to magicians like me...

Recent Posts

See All

The sign of a great entertainer

I got asked recently a great question. What makes a great entertainer? What separates the OK from the awesome? On the face of it, it seems like a really obvious question with a simple answer. Skill. B

Train Musings 2 - find the dud

Just like find the lady, we’re going to play a game with your acts now called find the dud. If you win, you get the prize of a wonderful well structured act that is awesome. If you lose… well you get

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page